Camera Technique Resources

Digital Photography School

The Essential Guide to Portrait Photography

Photo Nuts and Bolts

Best Digital Cameras and Gear

Contact

About

Top Ten Digital Cameras

Nikon D70s DSLR
Canon Powershot S2 IS
Canon Rebel XT DSLR
Nikon D50 DSLR
Nikon Coolpix S1
Casio Exilim Zoom EX-Z750
Canon EOS 20D
Canon Powershot SD400 - IXUS 50
Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ20
Sony Cybershot DSC-T7

Hot DSLRs

Canon EOS 5D
Nikon D200
Canon EOS 30D
Canon EOS 400D
Nikon D80 DSLR
Nikon D40
Canon EOS 40D (Rumored)

Digital Camera Archives

February 2010
February 2009
January 2009
August 2008
July 2008
April 2008
March 2008
January 2008
December 2007
November 2007
October 2007
September 2007
August 2007
July 2007
June 2007
May 2007
April 2007
March 2007
February 2007
January 2007
December 2006
November 2006
October 2006
September 2006
August 2006
July 2006
June 2006
May 2006
April 2006
March 2006
February 2006
January 2006
December 2005
November 2005
October 2005
September 2005
August 2005
July 2005
June 2005
May 2005
April 2005
March 2005
February 2005
January 2005
December 2004
November 2004
October 2004
September 2004
August 2004
July 2004
June 2004
May 2004
April 2004
March 2004
February 2004
January 2004
December 2003
November 2003
October 2003
September 2003

Digital Camera Reviews and Ratings By manufacturer:
Canon | Casio | Fuji | HP | Kodak | Minolta | Nikon | Olympus | Panasonic | Pentax | Samsung | Sony | Misc. | Accessories | Lenses



Microtek ScanMaker i900 Scanner Reviews


Microtec-Scanmaker-I900
Imaging Resource has a review of the Microtek ScanMaker i900 Scanner and writes:

'Looking for a scanner that can handle film as well as flats is like looking for a camcorder that can take great stills. If you ever did find one, no one would believe you. They really address different problems.

But the i900 attacks the problem with a large dual bed design, adequate optical resolution precisely controlled for multiple scans and a high DMax to capture shadow detail. And Microtek supplies the IT8 targets you need to calibrate it.

Our tests showed that whether we ran it from ScanWizard Pro, SilverFast Ai or VueScan, we were able to get excellent results with both flats and film (positive and negative). We're starting to wonder about that dual-purpose camcorder and even the Fountain of Youth.'
Get the Latest Price on the Microtek ScanMaker i900

PCWorld reviews the Microtek ScanMaker i900 and writes:

'In informal tests, we found that the i900's Digital ICE feature did a fine job of repairing damaged photos. Scans of transparencies with artifacts from dust or scratches have to be cleaned up with LaserSoft Imaging's SilverFast AI 6, which also performs sophisticated color correction. The i900 performed well when scanning film and produced excellent-quality images from both 35mm slides and film negatives, with bright colors and crisp details. The Microtek TWAIN scanner driver (ScanWizard Pro), used for most of our tests, also includes a color-restoration option that did a good job of correcting color in faded originals. Other software bundled with the i900 includes an image editor (Adobe Photoshop Elements 2), an image manager (Ulead Photo Explorer 7), and an OCR package (Abbyy FineReader 5 Sprint), as well as color management and calibration tools (targets and profiles).'

CNET reviews the Microtex ScanMaker i900 scanner also and writes:

'The Microtek ScanMaker i900 isn't the cheapest flatbed scanner we've tested lately, but it's one of the most versatile. Whereas most scanners in its price range scan only letter-size prints, the ScanMaker i900 can handle legal-size originals. It also features a novel dual-scanning bed that produces some of the best film scans we've seen from a flatbed.'






Posted by Darren in our Scanners category on April 19, 2005

Comments

Leave advice or a user review on the Microtek ScanMaker i900 Scanner Reviews










Remember personal info?