Camera Technique Resources

Digital Photography School

The Essential Guide to Portrait Photography

Photo Nuts and Bolts

Best Digital Cameras and Gear

Contact

About

Top Ten Digital Cameras

Nikon D70s DSLR
Canon Powershot S2 IS
Canon Rebel XT DSLR
Nikon D50 DSLR
Nikon Coolpix S1
Casio Exilim Zoom EX-Z750
Canon EOS 20D
Canon Powershot SD400 - IXUS 50
Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ20
Sony Cybershot DSC-T7

Hot DSLRs

Canon EOS 5D
Nikon D200
Canon EOS 30D
Canon EOS 400D
Nikon D80 DSLR
Nikon D40
Canon EOS 40D (Rumored)

Digital Camera Archives

February 2010
February 2009
January 2009
August 2008
July 2008
April 2008
March 2008
January 2008
December 2007
November 2007
October 2007
September 2007
August 2007
July 2007
June 2007
May 2007
April 2007
March 2007
February 2007
January 2007
December 2006
November 2006
October 2006
September 2006
August 2006
July 2006
June 2006
May 2006
April 2006
March 2006
February 2006
January 2006
December 2005
November 2005
October 2005
September 2005
August 2005
July 2005
June 2005
May 2005
April 2005
March 2005
February 2005
January 2005
December 2004
November 2004
October 2004
September 2004
August 2004
July 2004
June 2004
May 2004
April 2004
March 2004
February 2004
January 2004
December 2003
November 2003
October 2003
September 2003

Digital Camera Reviews and Ratings By manufacturer:
Canon | Casio | Fuji | HP | Kodak | Minolta | Nikon | Olympus | Panasonic | Pentax | Samsung | Sony | Misc. | Accessories | Lenses



Canon EF 24-105mm f/4 L IS USM Lens Review


In my eternal search for the perfect Canon lens I've recently been doing a little research on the Canon EF 24-105mm f/4 L IS USM Lens. I spent a little time with one earlier in the week in my local camera store and was really impressed by what I saw and by the images I was able to take with it on my camera while in store.

Every review that I read also says great things about the 24-105mm L series lens from Canon including:

Digital Picture's review at Canon EF 24-105mm f/4 L IS USM Lens Review in which they write - 'The Canon EF 24-105mm f/4 L IS USM Lens is very sharp wide open at most focal lengths and shows only very slight improvement when stopped down. The one exception is toward the longer focal length range (near and including 105mm) where slight softness (sharp vs. very sharp) is noticeable wide open. Stopped down 1/3 stop to f/4.5 brings the very sharp description back at 105mm. I find that 24-105 L images take sharpening very well. In real life, with regular sharpening, f/4 shots at 105mm are very sharp and show little improvement stopped down - even to f/8. Corner sharpness is very good. Full frame users will see slight softness in the extreme corners. '

Also A Comparison of the new Canon 24-105 mm f4 L IS lens with the Canon 24-70 mm f2.8 L at Luminous Landscape where they write - 'Im a nature and wildlife photographer. Linear distortion is not a big deal most of the time, and vignetting is easily compensated for in Camera Raw. On the other hand, weight and size are issues that interest me, my neck and my back! And as I age, I find IS increasingly valuable even at modest focal lengths. So for me, the new lens is a no-brainer, especially when I dont have to accept any less resolution, and I get an extra 35 mm of reach!'

With all that in mind I'm going to order one of these lenses for myself this week and I'll let you know my own thoughts in a review once I've tested it.

Compare get the latest price on the Canon EF 24-105mm f/4 L IS USM Lens for Canon EOS SLR Cameras at Amazon







Posted by Darren in our Lenses category on April 30, 2006

Comments

Leave advice or a user review on the Canon EF 24-105mm f/4 L IS USM Lens Review










Remember personal info?