« Week 3 in the Living Room | A lesson from a Buddhist Nun »

Something smells Fishy

2 April, 2003 9:49 PM

Has anyone else noticed that there are some strange goings on in the blogisphere of late? Maxspeak has had his site mirrored in a few remote locations. Signposts seemed to get hacked yesterday and Boynton has also had her template, blogroll...everything stolen.

Smells fishy....is it a conspiracy???

eliacinandricci has also got salmon like smells eminating from his site. If you take the 's' out of the blogspot in his URL you'll end up on a mega Christian prophecy site.

Roy worked it out - someones registered the domain 'blogpot'...no 's' in it and its siphering any such mispelling of blogspot off to the Christian Prophecy site. Main thing is to spell your domain right and it won't effect you - it still does peeve me off a little - not sure about the ethics of this as a hit getting strategy!

Hmmm....maybe we could cash in on this.....I might go out and register some domains....'bogs4god.com'....'tallskinykiwi'....'lovingroom.org.au'.....'bendictionblogson.com'....hmmm



Fishy...Foolish(as in april 1st)...or maybe just the "kids doing an exercise in class somewhere in the globe" theory. I was alerted to the Japanese site - but can't figure it out. Who knows, Darren. It's certainly less disturbing knowing we're in good company - the company of clones!

boynton » 2 April, 2003 10:17 PM

you are in good company....keep blogging....no one will get your blog confused with a clone...you're unique!

Darren » 2 April, 2003 10:24 PM

I smelled fish on my blog also. Checking engine, I was infomed that eliacinandricci.blogpot.com take me to a maga christian a prophecy site.
is this fixable?

e3liacin » 3 April, 2003 2:55 AM

According to blogger.com, anyone on non-Pro may have been affected by template swapping. They are restoring templates for those that request (although we had already restored outs).

Mind you, I kinda liked the pink... for about two minutes.

dan » 3 April, 2003 9:01 AM

You've been tag to Living Room. ck livingroom.blogpot.com and see where it take you. The same to Urbanoramps, tallskinnykiwi, bloggedyblog, jordoncooper and I am sure some others too.
Clever? All his "valuable" material for Christianity is shadowed by his way of doign things. I don't know what I hate more, the fact that he is using our names to direct people to his ite, or all the pop- windows that show up when his site is up.

e3liacin » 3 April, 2003 11:41 PM

It's affected my site (and my fiancee's site), too. Very annoying.

Mark » 4 April, 2003 2:30 AM

Regarding that "christian prophecy site", it looks like you can type virtually any string in front of " .blogpot.com" and you'll get redirected there. It worked for foo.blogpot.com, boogabooga.blogpot.com, and [a bunch of random keystrokes].blogpot.com.

A whois query for blogpot.com and aaronsbible.com shows they're both registered to the same individual.

Roy Jacobsen » 4 April, 2003 3:03 AM

Is there a definitive list on who's sites have been affected, along with the spoofed/typo'd mirrors?

I want to do some IP digging here as this is mostly affecting Christian web sites.

Mean Dean » 4 April, 2003 6:59 AM

I had a feeling it might be like this....

its a bit of a typical internet ploy to get hits....alot of people do it...change one letter of a domain name of a popular site in the hope that people will come to you by accident when they mispell the domain name.

The thing that peeves me off is that its a Christian site doing the sneaky marketing thing.

Doesnt really impact me, but I guess it is more of an ethical thing....

who ever this is....they are leaching off peoples hard work.....to benefit their own....

Darren » 4 April, 2003 9:44 AM

When you Google this site it appears the god-bloggers are just about the last to notice.
There are some sharp bloggers out there that found this dude long before god-bloggers did.
Blog on!

Bene Diction » 4 April, 2003 12:04 PM

yep....I guess we're all to busy...praying?? :-)

Darren » 4 April, 2003 12:15 PM

Same people bought the blogpsot.com domain. Again, if you type anything.blogpsot.com it goes to the prophecy site.

Already makes me wonder about their credibility...

irene » 7 April, 2003 2:08 PM

Email this entry to a friend:

Friend's email:

Your email:

Message (optional):